A RESOLUTION

Commending the Wilkes County Emergency Medical Service; and for other purposes. 1

2 WHEREAS, the Wilkes County Emergency Medical Service (EMS) reached the pinnacle of

3 recognition on May 8, 2002, as it received the Service of the Year plaque at the annual

4 conference of the Emergency Medical Technicians Association of Georgia; and

5 WHEREAS, this outstanding EMS unit has a proud history of excellence in service and has 6 a lengthy list of regional and state awards that appropriately credit its professional staff; and

7 WHEREAS, in addition to being named best in the state, seven Wilkes County emergency 8 workers received the 2002 Dr. Joseph Simon State of Georgia Pediatric Award for their 9 superior emergency medical service for children; and

10 WHEREAS, this EMS unit won the State Advanced Cardiac Life Support competition in 11 1999; Paramedic Bruce Bailey won the first Medical College of Georgia Trauma Medic of 12 the Year award in 1999 and the Changes Competition in 2001 and 2002; Blake Thompson 13 was Director of the Year for East Central Georgia Region VI in 2000 and 2001; and 14 Paramedics Brad Tucker, Bruce Bailey, Dan Wright, and Jason McAvoy placed 4th in the 15 MEDWAR wilderness competition in 2001; and

WHEREAS, countless citizens of Wilkes and Taliaferro counties benefited from their valor. 16

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that 17

this body recognizes and commends the Wilkes County EMS unit as the best in Georgia and 18

19 conveys its congratulations, appreciation, and respect to these superb medical personnel.

20 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the Wilkes County EMS. 21

03