House Resolution 729

By: Representatives Seay of the 93rd, Jordan of the 96th, Barnes of the 97th, Dodson of the 94th and Buckner of the 95th

A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the Clayton County Section of the National Council of Negro Women; and for

2 other purposes.

- WHEREAS, the National Council of Negro Women (NCNW) was founded by renowned
 educator Mary McLeod Bethune on December 5, 1935, for the purpose of empowering
- 5 African American women to make a difference in the world; and
- 6 WHEREAS, for over 65 years, NCNW has carried on the vision of its founder, striving to

7 fulfill her legacy by sponsoring community programs and projects which focus on education,

8 economics, hunger, homelessness, health issues, teenage pregnancy, political awareness, and

- 9 leadership; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Clayton County Section of NCNW was organized in January, 1995, by
- 11 Pamela Collins, who became its first president, and Betty Davis, and received its charter in
- 12 August of that year; and
- 13 WHEREAS, ably led by current President Darlene Ruffin-Alexander, Ph.D., the Clayton
- 14 County Section works to bring its members into a greater awareness of and fuller
- 15 participation in the affairs of the community which affect their lives; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the members of the Clayton County Section uphold the ideal of Dr. Bethune 17 that women working together in council gain a resource of strength and information that 18 serves to better their lives and the lives of their families; and
- WHEREAS, the Clayton County Section is strongly committed to the welfare and
 empowerment of young people and regularly sponsors and promotes initiatives and projects
 designed to educate and uplift.

- $1 \quad \text{NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that}$
- 2 this body commends the Clayton County Section of the National Council of Negro Women
- 3 for its outstanding contributions on behalf of the citizens of Clayton County and the State of
- 4 Georgia.
- 5 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- 6 and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to President Darlene
- 7 Ruffin-Alexander.