Senate Resolution 425

By: Senators Balfour of the 9th, Burton of the 5th, Price of the 56th, Ladd of the 41st and Ray of the 48th

A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the Berkmar High School Boys Basketball Team; and for other purposes.

- 2 WHEREAS, the Berkmar High School Boys Basketball Team captured the Inaugural Class
- 3 AAAAA State Championship on March 9, 2001; and

4 WHEREAS, Clark Williams led the team in scoring with 17 of the team's 55 points; and

5 WHEREAS, this remarkable team has been ranked No. 1 in Georgia and No. 11 in the nation
6 by USA Today; and

WHEREAS, Berkmar's impressive record for the last two years is 59-6, including only one
loss to a Georgia team; and

9 WHEREAS, Berkmar's outstanding boys basketball team has triumphantly taken two state10 championships in two years; and

WHEREAS, Coach David Boyd, who has encouraged the team members to sharpen their skills as individuals, collaborate on superb teamwork, and develop their winning spirit, was named Coach of the Year by the Atlanta Tip-off Club; and

WHEREAS, the talented members of this outstanding team are: Shawn Ikpa, James Pattman,
Jr., Clark Williams, Adrien Borders, Wayne Arnold, Wynton Witherspoon, Joey Pruss,
Marcus Ervin, Nick Jones, Robin Nelson, Wayne Johns, Jonathan Giles, Alex Weeks, and
Brian Rodgers.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
commend and congratulate the Berkmar High School Boys Basketball Team, state
champions, for their impressive athletic achievements.

01

- 1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 2 to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to Berkmar High School.