02 LC 8 5260

House Resolution 1665

By: Representatives Day of the 153<sup>rd</sup>, Hanner of the 159<sup>th</sup>, Rogers of the 20<sup>th</sup>, Murphy of the 18<sup>th</sup>, Mueller of the 152<sup>nd</sup> and others

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the Tybee Island Beach Task Force; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, the Tybee Island Beach Task Force was formed to investigate new technology
- 3 to counter beach erosion in cooperation with the ecological services of the Georgia
- 4 Department of Natural Resources and the Savannah District Corps of Engineers; and
- 5 WHEREAS, this highly committed group of citizens generously gave their time, talent, and
- 6 energy to lobby for funding support from the state, county, and federal levels for effective
- 7 beach erosion control; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the task force often hosted groups of legislative and administrative officials in
- 9 an effort to educate political leaders and key public managers on the critical nature of beach
- 10 erosion control to Georgia's coastal communities; and
- 11 WHEREAS, many qualified individuals served on the task force, including Berta Adams,
- 12 Cecil DeLorme, Helen Downing, Richard Grosse, Terri Gruendl, Spec Hosti, Amy Lanier,
- 13 Curtis Lewis, Patrick Locklear, Dick Magune, Mary McCracken, Louis Off, Freda
- 14 Rutherford, Wick Searcy, William Sprague, James Stoeffler, and John Wylly.
- 15 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that
- 16 the members of this body recognize and commend the Tybee Island Beach Task Force for
- 17 their diligent study of beach erosion control technology and their valiant efforts to secure
- 18 funding for erosion control on Georgia's precious Tybee Island.
- 19 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to each member of the Tybee
- 21 Island Task Force.