## House Resolution 1447

By: Representatives Porter of the 143<sup>rd</sup>, McBee of the 88<sup>th</sup> and Mobley of the 69<sup>th</sup>

## A RESOLUTION

1 Commending the University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars on Academic

2 Recognition Day; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, Georgia's educational system is dedicated to the goal of providing a quality
education to all and fostering the realization of each person's fullest potential; and

5 WHEREAS, the 34 institutions of the University System of Georgia are valuable resources
6 for the people of this state, enhancing the intellectual, economic, social, civic, and cultural

7 well-being of the communities in which they are located and the entire state; and

8 WHEREAS, Academic Recognition Day was begun in 1987 as a celebration of individual

9 academic achievement and recognition of those students who exemplify that which is best

10 about the University System of Georgia and its institutions; and

WHEREAS, the following scholars from the 34 institutions of the University System ofGeorgia represent excellence in academic achievement and personal development:

13	Leslie Ann Parrish	Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College
14	Nilo Cesar Ramos	Albany State University
15	Lyle K. Perkins	Armstrong Atlantic State University
16	Dung Le	Atlanta Metropolitan College
17	Elena X. Situ	Augusta State University
18	JoAnna Nelms Smith	Bainbridge College
19	Devon Trent Carson	Clayton College and State University
20	Guyton S. Register	Coastal Georgia Community College
21	Doreen Elizabeth Stinchcomb	Columbus State University
22	Rebekah M. Shahan	Dalton State College
23	Ary N. Young	Darton College
24	Deidra C. Salter	East Georgia College
25	An Hao Ma	Floyd College

1	Erika Patrice Knight	Fort Valley State University
2	Linda Jones Henderson	Gainesville College
3	Melissa L. Cook	Georgia College and State University
4	Amy Elizabeth Vinson	Georgia Institute of Technology
5	Nancy A. Fernandez	Georgia Perimeter College
6	Hannah O. Stewart	Georgia Southern University
7	Kristan Michelle Arnold	Georgia Southwestern State University
8	Christina L. Cooper	Georgia State University
9	Nicholas Lee Hembree	Gordon College
10	Karen A. Wurl	Kennesaw State University
11	David Lamar Brooks	Macon State College
12	Andrew C. Aiken	Medical College of Georgia
13	Meredith E. Kennedy	Middle Georgia College
14	Kevin Thomas Meyer	North Georgia College and State University
15	Jeanne M. Zimmerman	Savannah State University
16	Meghan J. Cleveland	South Georgia College
17	Zachary J. Jones	Southern Polytechnic State University
18	Margret Chang	State University of West Georgia
19	Lakshmi Swamy	University of Georgia
20	William Thomas Parker	Valdosta State University
21	Justin Michael Jury	Waycross College

02

## $22 \quad \text{NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that}$

23 the University System of Georgia Outstanding Scholars are commended for their superior

24 academic achievements and their selection as representatives of their institutions on the

25 occasion of Academic Recognition Day 2002 and conveyed best wishes for the future.

- 26 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized
- and directed to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to, to Dr. Thomas C. Meredith,
  Chancellor, University System of Georgia; Hilton H. Howell, Jr., Chairman, Board of Regents
- 29 of the University System of Georgia; and to each Outstanding Scholar.