02 LC 8 5076

Senate Resolution 699

By: Senator Butler of the 55th

ADOPTED SENATE

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Commending the 2001 Stephenson High School football team; and for other purposes.
- 2 WHEREAS, the 2001 Stephenson High School football team had a spectacular season and
- 3 brought fame and honor to their school as the 7-AAAAA Region Champions; and
- 4 WHEREAS, the team set a school record winning 10 games in the season and the victory
- 5 over Southwest DeKalb and Harrison were the big wins during the 2001 season; and
- 6 WHEREAS, this fabulous team reached the Quarter-Finals of the State Playoffs and was
- 7 named the 2001 Team of the Year by Winning Circle and Team of the Month by the DeKalb
- 8 County Touchdown Club; and Coach Ron Gartrell was named Coach of the Year by both
- 9 The DeKalb Neighbor and The DeKalb Extra newspapers; and
- 10 WHEREAS, ten of the players have received football scholarships as follows:

11	DeMario Minter	UGA	Cleve Allen	Morris Brown
12	Brandon Cannon	Clemson	Rico Williams	Ft. Valley State
13	Anthony Cannon	Tulane	Daniel Allen	Savannah State
14	Sean Lucas	Tulane	Jonathan Deane	Savannah State
15	Alonzo Johnson	Furman	Khalil Hasan	Savannah State

- 16 WHEREAS, the outstanding accomplishments of these young athletes reflect their talent,
- 17 determination, and discipline and the experience of their fine coaching staff.
- 18 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE that the members of this body
- 19 commend the 2001 Stephenson High School football team on its superb record and convey
- 20 their congratulations and best wishes to the team members and their coaches.
- 21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed
- 22 to transmit appropriate copies of this resolution to Head Coach Ron Gartrell and to each of
- 23 the ten players who earned football scholarships.